September 19, 2007

  • disheartened.

    i've been sticking to a strict diet/exercise regimen.. i consume nothing after 4pm.. i exercise daily.. which consists of running, elliptical, bikram yoga, and light weight lifting.. LIGHT. tops appear to fit looser.. but for some odd reason, my jeans became a tad bit snug. so i started to use this again..

    hh

    it's supposedly effective in trimming inches off the waist. one hour, daily.

    so, this morning.. i hop on that disloyal scale of mine..

    four pounds. i gained four effing pounds. that may seem petty to many.. but it's a huge deal to me.. especially when i torture myself at the gym and deprive myself of the greatness of food on a daily basis. it can't be muscles because i do very light weight lifting and never focus on resistance training. it can't be water weight because the last thing i ate or drank was at 3pm yesterday. i woke up, took a whiz.. THEN went on the scale.

    i don't consume more than 600 calories a day.. and i burn off about 400-500 at the gym alone. take into consideration the hula hooping i do and yeah.. incorporate my BMR.. and i'm in a calorie deficit.. so there is NO way that scale should be going up. whyyyyy.. this is totally fucking with my head..

    i'm tempted to inhale taco bell's entire menu now..

Comments (20)

  • bigger thighs b/c u r running more?

  • Remember that muscle weighs more than fat and you can get more toned (muscle development) even with light weights.

  • light weights...and running can build leg muscles...your legs are a big muscle group...so even a little muscle growth can contribute to that.

    but dang...intake of only 600 calories is crazy...you need to consume at least double that.

    do you know your BMR? i would suggest you go about 500 calories below your total calories that you burn  (so BMR + exercise) - 500 calories should equal your intake.

  • Nothing after 4pm? You'd better get to bed by 4:10pm then...

  • maybe ur preg. :O

  • i'm trying to use my imagination and i still don't know what that thing is. ??
    and muscle vs fat density: http://answers.google.com/answers/threadview?id=576481

  • I wouldn't be disheartened.  You could be gaining muscle while losing fat.  They key is to have your body fat % tested.

  • i'm a big fan of cock rings too.

  • yeah maybe it's the muscle that's developing. That's heavier than fat :)

  • Feel free to use my scale!  Its accurate, especially if you're butt nekkid.  But you gotta have dry feet cause its one of those electrode ones that measure body fat too.  Either way, I'm sure you're weight is more than fine. It's muscle.

  • it is recommended that you weigh yourself at approximately the same time each day to make comparisons, because our weight changes throughout the day. (so if you pee before you weigh yourself in the morning, be sure to do that every morning b4 you weigh yourself)

    1~2 days weight differences shouldn't matter. just keep a log and look at the trend(s)

    oh yea, and; DISCLAIMER: Please consult a doctor or medical professional before starting any diet regime.

    :P

  • DO IT. Being skinny is overrated.. but I suppose dying of high cholesterol and bad diet isn't. Anyhow, muscle weighs more than fat. And it's not how MUCH you weigh, it's how much you LOOK like you weight.

  • whoa... you're not eating enough... you're not doing it right chica... you're going to put on more fat that way... no bullshit...

  • muscle comes from everywhere.  And don't foget barometric pressure or whatever.  lol

  • I have no idea what the hell that bracelet thing is. It looks like a photon machine.

  • It still could be water weight. What's your salt intake like? 'cuz of bikram I crave salts so much I'm thinking about installing a salt lick next to my bed. You actually doing bikram every single day?

  • Why are you trying to lose weight? You look spectacular as you are.

  • i had taco bell tonight...

    several things:

    1) muscle weighs more than fat
    2) any part of your body that you strengthen gets bigger not smaller
    3) your exercise regimen following your breakup definitely sounds like a common case of self blame which is usually accompanied by stress. stress can lead to storage of calories in some cases.
    4) when burning fat, your body works loses it in a "last on, first off" fashion, so the last part of your body to gain the fat is the first to lose it. generally, unless you're very obese the common person will have last gained fat around the face. after you lose that, it'll probably be your laterals then finally your gut.

    did i mention i had taco bell tonight? just kidding. stop blaming yourself.

  • Someone once told me if you regularly go for long periods without eating, like after 4pm every day, your body goes into fasting mode and stores fat because it thinks you are starving. It's supposedly better to eat 5 or 6 small, regularly spaced meals. Or so they tell me.

  • hi, ang.  ditto with what other people have said.  your body can be building more muscles while shedding fat.  make sure you eat enough protein so your body's not breaking down your muscles to get amino acids.  be good to yourself.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *